Gmail app.

Getty/Picture Alliance

Admit it: You rarely proofread emails and every once in a while (or very often) that typo seems to just mock you as it sits in your Sent folder. There’s just something about hitting the Send button that makes you feel so productive, even if it means you didn’t spell productive right in your actual email. (Believe me, I’ve been there.) 

Luckily, Gmail has an Undo Send feature that gives you up to a 30-second grace period after you send an email, so you can sneakily proofread before the message disappears from your grasp. Here’s how to enable the feature.

Also: How to recall an email in Outlook

How to enable Undo Send in Gmail 

First, make sure you’re logged in to your Gmail account and your inbox is fully visible. 

In the top right corner of your inbox, click on the Settings icon (gear). From there, click on the first button that says “See all settings”.

Settings in Gmail inbox

Screenshot by Christina Darby/ZDNET

Also: Google: Gmail is getting this new look to make switching between apps easier

Once you’re in Settings, you’ll see a lot of options under the General tab; Undo Send is the fifth option down. Use the small drop-down menu to select your desired cancellation period — you have the choice of 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds.